Skip to content

Where, oh where has plainlyspoken gone?

June 22, 2012

Well, not as far as you think.  I am still kicking, but things in my life have taken a couple of routes that have restructured my thinking and my time.  I have been absent from blogging on politics simply because with all that is happening I haven’t got the energy for it.  Though, since there are a few who got use to seeing me around it is time I spoke plainly as to why I no longer am.

First, and foremost, many of you know that littlespoken revealed to us last year of the sexual abuse she suffered when she was seven.  The perpetrator is now, I am happy to report, sitting in the hoosegow awaiting his trial on multiple counts of sexual assault on a child by a person in a position of trust.  He was arrested a couple of weeks ago after a seven month long investigation by the police department.  The detective who was assigned to the case has accomplished more than I ever believed (in my ex-cop thinking) one could.  He was so careful in construction of the case that he was able to obtain a full confession and a handwritten letter of apology to littlespoken!  My daughter, wife and I are very pleased, even though we face the next long battle – a court trial.  We hope he will plead out on the case, but we figure that would be more than we can expect at this point.  The ADA handling the case has assured the investigating detective that if the accused gets a deal offered to him it will include a stretch in the state prison.  Theoretically, at this point, the sob is facing multiple 4-to-life sentences for his crimes against our child.  If he is smart he’ll go and stay in prison, it really is the best place for him.  This whole case consumes a lot of my energy, especially in working to help littlespoken get her life back.  We all work with her counselor (one who has specialty experience in counseling children who have suffered sexual abuse) to build a stronger littlespoken.  It is slow going, but we will persevere.

The second reason for my absence is also a tough family issue my wife, daughter and I are dealing with.  I started having some balance and trembling problems a couple months ago.  Along with some other things my RN wife noticed it was enough for her to decide that I need to go see my physician.  I did and his initial diagnosis was not something I wanted to ever hear.  I have Parkinson’s Disease.  Over the course of the past two months I have been undergoing other testing to insure all other possible conditions can be ruled out, but for my physician the picture is clear.  Hell of a thing to hear from your doc, and I trust my doc, so here we are.  It has been an emotional roller coaster ride for me.  The disease causes many problems and the medications don’t control them all. One of the worse aspects of it is that at some point down the road it will rob me of the two things I fear losing most, control over my mind and my body.  But for now I have good days, bad days, and occasionally even worse days where sitting up in bed is about all I can handle.  My overall future is mapped out in a way, all that I have to do is trust the doc that we can make the quality of my life the best that we can possibly make it.  It is definitely a “one day at a time” thought process for right now.  I struggle still with the mental highs and lows of Parkinson’s Disease, but I am blessed with a wonderful wife and child who refuse to let me go it alone.  They are the rock I hold on to now and will for whatever time I am granted to spend with them.  We don’t know yet how the disease will progress, so all I can do is trust that the Lord has it all set properly for me.

There you have it, short and sweet.  Well, maybe not so short.  I want to say that I miss y’all here and at SUFA.  I am afraid that I just don’t have the heart for it right now.  I admit I am kind of self-absorbed at the moment. I have peeked in a couple of times and I may in the future, but no promises.  I have started blogging a bit, at my wife’s insistence, to help clear my head on this disease.  You’ll find it at plainlyparkinsons.wordpress.com.  Stop over if you are of a mind to.

Gman, I apologize for adding an article before giving you a heads up.  Hopefully you aren’t upset with me?  😉  To all the rest (and you too G) go my best wishes.

plainly

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2012 6:13 pm

    Plainly,

    So sorry to hear about the tough times you are enduring. I have a friend that went through a trial where her husband had abused their children. The PA did accept a plea where he got 40 years… Not sure it’s justice but it seemed to be about as good a result as they would have gotten with a guilty verdict. Also hope jailhouse justice finds out he abused his own children…

    Parkinson’s is a hell of a hand to be dealt… I see Michal J. Fox is still active and fighting it, and hope his actions raise awareness and lead to solutions. Have to admire how he has fought it and am sure you can do as well with your personal battle.

    Will keep you in my prayers,
    Illusion

  2. June 25, 2012 6:57 pm

    Sorry for your troubles. Miss your contributions and analysis. Hope and pray that things work out for you. Keep active, mentally and physically but I’m sure you know that already.

    Steve

  3. V.H. permalink
    June 25, 2012 7:12 pm

    Hard to understand why life has to be so hard. For what it’s worth-I heard a line on a TV show of all places which has kinda stuck with me through the hard times:

    “Time to get about the business of living life like it is”

    Which I suspect you are already doing-me- I need help and stuff like the above help me. I hope it will in some small way help you.

    You and your family will be in my prayers.

  4. June 25, 2012 10:08 pm

    Thank you all for you kinds words, thoughts and prayers. I am not so proud as to think I don’t need them, because I certainly do.

    VH, a very good line, one I shall try to remember if I can.

    Someday I may return to being more active on SUFA. For now, well I know the debates are in good hands on all sides without me. I’ll peek in from time to time.

    Bless you all and thank you.

  5. Anita permalink
    June 29, 2012 6:18 pm

    YAAAAAAAY! and BOOOOOOOOOOO!

    I’m so happy the jerk is getting what he deserves! I’ve wondered in your absence if this is what had you sidetracked. I pray that time will heal the wounds for Littlespoken. I’m sure she’s also relieved at what’s come of the whole thing so far.

    And then you get kicked when you’re down! Sorry to hear this too Plainly.Easy for me to say from a distance but God doesn’t dish out more than you can handle. Don’t let it keep you down, brother.

    Now who’s gonna take care of the goats? 🙂

    • June 30, 2012 6:46 pm

      Thank you Anita for your kind thoughts.

      The goats are still getting the best of care for sure. They are all fat and happy and Littlespoken keeps them that way. 🙂

      As for the idiot – we were notified yesterday that he had made his bail and would be released that evening. We haven’t ( and don’t plan to right now) to Littlespoken this, it would be too much of a reverse for her self-feelings of safety. We want to talk to her therapist first and determine when would be a better time to tell her.

      Also in the mean time I have some upset over this damn disease. If you are interested you can follow my ups and down at http://plainlyparkinsons.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

