Skip to content

Our Spoiled Society

February 26, 2011

As I sit and ponder the future, I cannot help but think of my recent trips  to the store and gas station.  As I’m shopping for needed groceries, I watch and listen as people go about their business.  Many folks in my part of the world aren’t wealthy, but not living a bad life.  Most have nice homes, nice cars, and the conveniences that come with working hard  in America.  There are also those that are just above water, buying what they need, and maybe a special treat to boot, drive a older vehicle and live within their means.  They are mostly happy people, as far as I can tell, generally kind and respectful.   Lately, folks are getting more frugal in their shopping habits.  I hear time and again “we can’t afford that, let’s get this instead”  or ” let’s just get what’s on the list, we need gas in the car”.   Then, at the gas station, I see many different vehicles, from Hummers to clunkers.  It still amazes me how friendly folks are towards one another where I live.  I also see concern, in the checkout line at the grocery store and at the gas station.  Our society has been spoiled and I wonder how kind folks are going to be when the prices at the grocery strore and gas station become a major burdon.  In our spoiled society, changes to the norm could lead to negative changes in attitude and actions.

Our nation has enjoyed very properous times for decades.  Today, we have nice cars, nice homes, big flat screen TV’s, megawatt stereos in our homes and cars, Three hundred channels to chose from on the TV, DVRs, DVDs, fancy smancy cell phones and the list goes on and on.  Things have certainly changed from the days when families gathered next to the radio to listen to their favorite program, before TV came into existance.  Today, we also have an huge entitlement class, who produce nothing, but consume in the same manner as the working class, except with money they didn’t earn.  Far too many people think that this lifestyle will never end, that as long as there is government, we will continue to go on infinately.  Their heads are buried in the sand and nothing I can do will change that. Spoiled brats!

As many of you know, I am not a fan of government.  I think we can do without all their bullshit laws and regulations.  If anyone can think of any activity that you do on a daily basis that is somehow not associated with a government tax, fee, or regulation I’d like to know about it.  The U.S. Government is also drowning in debt, over 14 trillion dollars as I write this.  As long as the Federal Reserve keeps buying more debt, it will only get worse.  We the people are getting robbed blind and they won’t stop until they have it all!  The States and municipalities are also in trouble with debt, but they can’t print money to keep them running.  So, the changes are beginning, and those changes are being met with fierce resistance.  The spoiled brats just don’t get it, the game is over, and the working class will learn this first.

Don't take my cookies!

The spoiled brats are protesting at state capitals because of some fantasy that collective bargaining is some sort of “right”.  For their information, collective bargaining is a legislative priviledge, permitted and regulated by Federal and state laws.  I know they can’t possibly understand this, because they are spoiled brats who don’t want to give up their government goodies.  As the governments vote to  further regulate collective bargaining, those who are losing their government goodies are simply acting out like the spoiled brats that  they are.  They just don’t get it,  they are part of the problem, not the solution.  I am not anti-union, I believe they have a place in our nation, and can do many good things for Americans.  I also believe that unions belong in the private sector not the public sector.

 What about the other spoiled brats, the entitlement class?  Don’t think for a minute that they are not being targeted, it’s being done a different way.  Through dollar devaluation, prices are on the rise.  Food, in particular, is one I have mentioned in a previous article.  Now, with the chaos expanding in the Middle East, oil is rising, and with that the price of gas.  The domino effect will drive all prices up, and the entitlement class will begin to suffer from these events.  The working class can adapt to their changes in most cases, the entitlement class have little room to adapt.  It’s easy to expect that as food and gas prices go up, so too will crime rates.  What this will eventually lead to is anyones guess, but if it gets to a point where people can’t afford food, only bad things can happen.

YOU SPOILED BRAT!

According to CNN/Money, gas prices rose 17 cents this past week.  On Friday alone, major food commodities rose as much as 4.5%.   My friends, this is really happening, it’s not some silly conspiracy theory that some might claim.  The days of Americans living the high life are changing.  I equate this change to an 18 year old, spoiled rotten all his life, suddenly finding himself in Paris Island as a new Marine recruit.  This would be a life changing event to someone who was not spoiled his whole life.  I ask you to prepare yourselves, as we face some life changing events in the weeks and months ahead.  Help others pull their heads out of the sand, be adamant and straight forward.

Changes are coming to…….Our Spoiled Society.

Live Free!

G!

p.s.  If you like this blog, please subscribe to get an email when I post new articles.  If you have suggestions for topics please include them in the comments section.  Make a comment, I’ll be nice when I answer back!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. gmanfortruth permalink*
    February 26, 2011 5:48 pm

    Hey, LeCharlie! Is your head ready to explode? 😆

  2. February 26, 2011 7:04 pm

    Nah, this is you being you, Gman … you can’t help yourself … you’re a slave to the 2%’s … you swallow all the horseshit big money offers (via Glenn Beck and the like) and you probably really believe most of the insanity you spewed up top.

    I’m sending a pair of shoes to Obama Monday … how about you?

    http://temporaryknucksline.blogspot.com/2011/02/talk-is-cheap-very-cheap.html

    • gmanfortruth permalink*
      February 26, 2011 7:11 pm

      Charlie, you have me way wrong! Dude, I would like to off the 2% (I call them the predator class or the PC for short). I don’t listen to Beck and the like, so I have no idea what their offering (I thought my article on the media would have made that clear, but as Doc said, you don’t listen 🙂 ). Yes, I believe what I write, please feel free to refute my insanity, logically would help! As far as Obama goes, I wouldn’t waste a postage stamp to send him my spit!

  3. Judy Sabatini permalink
    February 26, 2011 9:24 pm

    Charlie, G’s article is dead on. We had a big screen TV, 50″, had it for 7 years to be exact, but guess what, it blew, can’t afford to get it fixed, can’t afford a new one either, our son let us borrow his 27″ one for now. We don’t live a luxury life, who can afford it? My husband is working part time, I lost my job over a year ago, been looking for work since, no luck. I do the grocery shopping, look for the best bargains, I drive a 1995 chevy Lumina, hubby is buying his brother’s used car, we pay our bills, pay our house payment with his social security check, yes he gets that, &thank God, other wise we’d be in the street. We live within our means. If you haven’t been grocery shopping lately, then you’d know food prices have gone up, paying more for less, gas prices are changing on a daily basis here, home foreclosures have gone up here 16% as well. And who can afford to buy clothes anymore? No, G isn’t living in a dream world, he’s living reality like most of us, doing what we can, with what we’ve got. You might want to take heed when he says, you better start storing those necessities , things like food, gas, water or what ever now, because you may not be able to afford them in a year from now. I do what I can with what comes in, in line money.

    • February 27, 2011 2:30 pm

      Judy, I was working 6 & 7 days a week for more than 3 years … I’ve now lost both jobs under Bush-Obama (the 2nd one is all Obama). We drive an old car too, baby. We aren’t rich by any means. My wife just finished a full-time RN program while working full-time so we can avoid the gov’t permitting outsourcing to put us in the street. I return to college for my Masters in June so I can first go another 32K in debt for the degree, than hope they haven’t killed every teaching job by the time I have it. I’m not stocking because I’m 54 and my 3 kids are all independent. I have a very different view of this life when it comes time to starve or do something about it. The ONLY reason I’m not a communist party member is because of their belief in non-violent revolution. Me, I’m all for swinging louisville sluggers when the time comes. If my choice is to starve or survive, I’ll figure something out. I’m cute but not shy …

  4. SK Trynosky Sr. permalink
    February 27, 2011 11:34 am

    In the debate between the G-man and the Charlie, the truth will come out all on its own. Just a matter of waiting. Having watched the debts of the Combo Great Society and Vietnam war come due during the Carter administration and construction loan and mortgage interest rates top 20%, how can the G man be wrong?

    Wishful thinking will never make it so.

    • February 27, 2011 2:34 pm

      The other way to look at it is the 2%’s taking everything they can get and laughing all the way to the bank. Although you’re probably right about the Great Society … had that never happened, we probably would’ve had a genuine revolution here by now. That turned out to be nothing but a stall tactic … throw a few bones around to keep the masses from taking what they need. That’ll happen sooner or later; the 2%’s aren’t about to give it up without armed resistance … I’ll be long dead but it’s only a matter of time.

      Hey, you guys sending Obama shoes tomorrow? We are.

      • gmanfortruth permalink*
        February 27, 2011 2:37 pm

        Maybe you should only send LEFT shoes!! 🙂

        • anita permalink
          February 27, 2011 6:28 pm

          Good one G!

          Hey Charlie..Obama can’t stick up for the protesters..He has a minor problem:

          On November 3, 2007, then-Senator Barack Obama said this on the campaign trail: ‘If Americans are being denied their right to organize and collectively bargain when I’m in the White House, I’ll put on a comfortable pair of shoes myself, I’ll walk on that picket line with you.’ But so far President Obama is staying out of the Wisconsin brawl, and there’s a good reason for that. The Wall Street Journal’s Kimberley Strassel writes that ‘President Obama is the boss of a civil work force that numbers up to two million … those federal workers cannot bargain for wages or benefits.’ So the only thing the federal union can do is negotiate personnel matters. That’s why President Obama can’t go to Wisconsin – his guys don’t have any union rights and Mr. Obama has not advocated for any changes. According to a new poll, 71% of Wisconsinites believe Governor Scott Walker’s union cutbacks are fair, and 69% believe state workers have better benefits than private sector employees. The bottom line on the story is that cutbacks are going to happen and the power of the public unions will be diminished.”

          Fox News Sunday host Chris Wallace elaborated on President Obama’s dilemma regarding Wisconsin public employees. “It would be kind of difficult for President Obama to go to Wisconsin and advocate that they have these collective bargaining rights,” Wallace said, “when his own federal workers don’t have those same collective bargaining rights and he’s done nothing to give them those rights. Also, the administration is trying to move to the center and get the independents back, and they know one of the keys is to cut government spending. It’s pretty hard to defend these sweetheart deals that the public unions have that private workers would die for.” The Factor added that President Obama and his team have done nothing to give federal workers more bargaining power: “The Democrats had two years under President Obama with total control of both houses of Congress to change that. It didn’t happen!”

          I can’t get to the original post at the Washington Post because I don’t have a subscription.

          Sorry for taking up all the room G 🙂

          • anita permalink
            February 27, 2011 6:31 pm

            Whoops make that the Wall Street Journal.

          • February 27, 2011 7:42 pm

            Anita, darling … I’ve been posting that 2007 campaign promise on my FB page almost every few hours for 3 days. Forget federal employees and everything else. It’s what he said in 2007 he’d do if collective bargaining was challenged. Today on Meet the Press, Tumpka (AFL-CIO gov’t puppet) was giddy while avoiding answsering a simple question (suggesting unions are more crooked than anything else). “Do you expect President Obama to walk the line in Wisconsin?” After much giggling like a kid caught with his hand in the candy jar, Tumpka blew the question off with: “He’s doing exactly what he needs to do.”

            In my book that means a deal has been struck between the white house and Tumpka and anyone paying union dues for that kind of representation is a damn fool. They should have him tossed from the union tomorrow morning. What a sellout. And if that’s the best unions can do, you’re right, who needs them? Certainly not the poor bastards paying dues. Obama made a promise he can’t back away from but will … and hopefully, finally, the union workers across the country abandone him the same way in 2012. He’s exactly what Doc calls him, President Fredo … absolutely useless to anybody but Wall Street (for whom he fought tooth and nail to give them $800 Billion tax free ducats).

          • gmanfortruth permalink*
            February 27, 2011 11:21 pm

            Charlie,

            Now you are seeing the truth! The government is not on our side, the Predator class wants everything we own, and Wall Street could care less about you or me or anyone else. Fuck them all! Doc is right, and your comment hit the nail on the head. Until we, people like me and you, with our vast political views, can throw them views in the trash and act as one, there is no future for this country. Division will make us all very poor, because they win! They are in for a big surprise, because the silent majority are coming together, very quietly.

  5. anita permalink
    February 27, 2011 7:49 pm

    Charlie..I can’t tell if you’re arguing with me or not 🙂 I said Obama can’t stick up for the unions because his own fed employees don’t have the same rights. You say he’s renigging on a promise. I think we’re both saying he’s full of shit!

    G. I never saw a no profanity rule..did I overstep? 🙂

    • February 27, 2011 9:12 pm

      Anita, no argument here … he’s full of crapola no matter how one looks at this issue.

      Even my mommy (Moma Stella) today (see my Facebook page) said (after viewing his campaign promise): “And he’s full of shit too!”

      I always yield to moms …

      • anita permalink
        February 27, 2011 9:59 pm

        Good boy Charlie! Gotta listen to mama.

        Serious question though..are you really going to send some shoes? 🙂

        • February 28, 2011 10:15 am

          The shoes are in the mail. Actually used sneakers … very comfortable. My feet might be a bit small, but I figure he’ll be getting several pair in the mail this week. Still, he won’t budge from the white house (unless there’s a good party somewhere else). I doubt he’ll go on Oprah or The View until this Wisconsin thing is settled. But anyone union member who a) pays his dues after the way Tumka (head of AFL-CIO) caved or b) votes for Obama in 2012 if he doesn’t walk the line is a fool. I was a union member for 10 years back in the day and there’s no way I would’ve voted for a president who pissed on my union due contributions turned campaign contributions who did what this feckless Mofo is doing right now.

    • gmanfortruth permalink*
      February 27, 2011 11:12 pm

      Hi Anita,

      No, you did not overstep, I like passion in people. I don’t have virgin ears, and I cuss like a sailor most of the time. As long as we ain’t calling each other names, fuck political correctness! 🙂

Leave a Reply

